GRAND STAIRCASE

Calf Creek- Bolder, UT
February 2017

20170301_163942

This National Monument is huge. There is one highway that cuts through the north part of it. We didn’t get a chance to do much research on where we wanted to go in this monument. We didn’t have any cell service for a couple days before we came here. There also wasn’t any kind of visitor center either. So we had to wing it! This monument defiantly required more time. It seemed like a lot of it was driving on dirt roads and doing long hikes.
Our first stop was Lower Calf Creek Falls. This was a beautiful small waterfall. The hike was six miles round trip. James decided not to do this hike. I really wanted to see the falls so I went on without him. I was really upset with him for not going, but looking back I shouldn’t have been. Its ok to opt out and just chill, plus he has to be careful of his knee. He took this time to do a few errands on the van and then he just enjoyed the time to himself. He laid down on a bridge that had Calf Creek running under it and dozed off for awhile. I’m glad he enjoyed his time.

20170301_133450
Meanwhile Xander and I forged on to the waterfall. This trail was easy but sandy. I kept Xander on leash most of the time because the trail was narrow and I wasn’t sure how many people we might run into. As you all know by now, Xander is an asshole to people! On the way back I did let him run free for a little while. He had a blast running around like a mad dog in the sand.

20170301_134611

20170301_135735
We came across a bird wing on the trail. I’m not sure what kind of bird but it was definitely a bird of prey. Shortly after that I smelled the very distinct and heart stopping smell of a skunk. I kept saying to myself, please no, please no, please no! Good news, we never saw a skunk! Can you imagine James’s reaction if Xander and I both came back smelling like skunk?

20170301_150033
As we got closer to the falls you could hear the load roar of the water plummeting over the rocks into a small pool. The air started to change as well. The temperature dropped a lot and you could feel the moisture in the air. As we got even closer you could feel a light mist on your skin/fur. The waterfall was perfect. It was just Xander and I there. I decided not to torture him by trying to get a selfie with him. I did manage to snap a good picture of him by the fall though. He is really good at dodging pictures. The falls were great but it was getting cold so we headed back “home”.

20170301_150531

20170301_150640

20170301_151106
On the way back we were almost to the end of the trail when Xander and I heard a noise off to the side of the trail. He immediately barked his big loud bark and I jumped. My heart dropped. I thought we had come across a mountain lion. Turns out it was just another hiker out with her dog! Thank goodness. We both scared each other and had a laugh about it. As we approached the parking lot James said that he was just about to come looking for us. He always has good timing like that. Some how he always knows when I should be finishing. We decided to camp there at the campsite.
There is always something so calming and peaceful about a stream. It was nice camping right there. Although we both wished it was a little warmer so we could sit outside the van and enjoy it even more. While it was hard to find much info on what to do at this monument it was off to a wonderful start. Next up, dinosaur tracks!

20170301_155604

20170301_165245

Leave a Reply

